Transition of Care for Colorectal and Urogenital Patients

2-Day Online Workshop:

Thursday, June 16, 2022
9:00 a.m. ET (1:00 p.m. GMT/UTC) / 8:00 a.m. CT / 7:00 a.m. MT / 6:00 a.m. PT
FIND THE START TIME IN YOUR TIME ZONE

Friday, June 17, 2022
9:00 a.m. ET (1:00 p.m. GMT/UTC) / 8:00 a.m. CT / 7:00 a.m. MT / 6:00 a.m. PT
FIND THE START TIME IN YOUR TIME ZONE

REGISTRATION for TRANSITION OF CARE (NO CME CREDIT)


Overview

Moderated by Andrea Bischoff, MD, and Daniel Wood, PhD, MB.BS, FRCS Urol, from the International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care at Children's Hospital Colorado, Transition of Care for Colorectal and Urogenital Patients is a comprehensive, online surgical and management workshop hosted virtually through The Hendren Project.

Improvements in pediatric surgical practice mean that many children with complex surgical conditions can expect to live long and productive adult lives. For patients born with colorectal and urogenital conditions, lifetime medical care can be a lifelong challenge. It is important that these patients receive the adult healthcare they need to ensure that any underlying condition or treatment has minimal impact on this. As pediatric patients age and transition to adult healthcare, they often face special challenges in the medical care they require. But too often adult healthcare providers are unfamiliar with these complex pediatric surgical conditions and surgical treatments. Processes and tools exist for helping pediatric patients in "graduating" to adulthood, but they are extremely variable across healthcare environments and among medical specialties. The essence of transition of care is educating pediatric patients about their conditions so they become independent in their own healthcare in readiness for a successful transition into the adult healthcare environment.

This 2-day workshop will examine the challenges of transition of care in the urology, gynecology, and colorectal surgery. International experts will provide insight into their practices for transition of care patients and how they overcome some of the practical and medical challenges in this exciting and growing area of clinical practice.

Target Audience

The course is designed for pediatric and adult surgeons, medical professionals managing patients with colorectal issues, urologists, gynecologists, nurses, advanced practice providers, and physiotherapists.

Presentations


Day 1: Thursday, June 16, 2022

9:00 am ET / 8:00 am CT / 7:00 am MT / 6:00 am PT
Introduction to International Colorectal and Urogenital Transition of Care Meeting

Andrea Bischoff, MD
Founding Director, International Center for Colorectal Care, Children's Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Professor Emeritus, University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus, Aurora, CO

9:10 am ET / 8:10 am CT / 7:10 am MT / 6:10 am PT
Patient Testimony

 

9:25 am ET / 8:25 am CT / 7:25 am MT / 6:25 am PT
State of the Art: Lessons Learned from Long-term Pediatric Surgical Reconstruction

Richard Rink, MD, FAAP, FACS

10:00 am ET / 9:00 am CT / 8:00 am MT / 7:00 am PT
Patient Experience in Transition of Care
Parental Anxiety About Transition of Care

Cindy Buchanan, PhD

Survey of Adult Patients

Laura Judd-Glossy, PhD

Transition Through My Eyes

Taylor Heap

 
11:00 am ET / 10:00 am CT / 9:00 am MT / 8:00 am PT
Importance of Multidisciplinary Clinic and Transition of Care in Spina Bifida

Pam Wilson, MD

11:30 am ET / 10:30 am CT / 9:30 am MT / 8:30 am PT

BREAK

11:40 am ET / 10:40 am CT / 9:40 am MT / 8:40 am PT
Let's Talk About Sex

Dan Wood, PhD, MB.BS, FRCS Urol

12:00 pm ET / 11:00 am CT / 10:00 am MT / 9:00 am PT
Pelvic Pain in Patients with Congenital Anomalies

Janine Oliver, MD

12:15 pm ET / 11:15 am CT / 10:15 am MT / 9:15 am PT
Female Fertility in Congenital Anomalies

Ephia Yasmin, MD, MB.BS, MRCOG

12:35 pm ET / 11:35 am CT / 10:35 am MT / 9:35 am PT
Managing Pregnancy in Patients with Congenital Anomalies

Pat O'Brien, MB.BCh, MFFP, FRCOG

4:15 pm ET / 3:15 pm CT / 2:15 pm MT / 1:15 pm PT
Assessment and Management of Vaginal Stenosis

Veronica Alaniz, MD

1:15 pm ET / 12:15 pm CT / 11:15 am MT / 10:15 am PT
Vaginoplasty

Andrea Bischoff, MD

1:35 pm ET / 12:35 pm CT / 11:35 am MT / 10:35 am PT
Reoperations in Adult Patients

Alberto Peña, MD

1:55 pm ET / 12:55 pm CT / 11:55 am MT / 10:55 am PT
Case Presentations with Multidisciplinary Discussions

Presented by Naomi Crouch, MB.BS, MD, MRCOG; Alessandra Gasior, MD; Andrea Bischoff, MD; Dan Wood, PhD, MB.BS, FRCS Urol


Day 2: Friday, June 17, 2022

9:00 am ET / 8:00 am CT / 7:00 am MT / 6:00 am PT
Urinary Diversion

Dan Wood, PhD, MB.BS, FRCS Urol

9:25 am ET / 8:25 am CT / 7:25 am MT / 6:25 am PT
State of the Art: The Adolescent Brain and Transition of Care

Deborah Christie, PhD

10:00 am ET / 9:00 am CT / 8:00 am MT / 7:00 am PT
Why a Pediatric Urologist Needs To Transition Patients

Duncan Wilcox, MB.BS, MD
Ponzio Family Chair in Pediatric Urology, International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care, Children's Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO

10:30 am ET / 9:30 am CT / 8:30 am MT / 7:30 am PT
The Adult Exstrophy Patient: Concerns and Solutions

John Gearhart, MD

11:30 am ET / 10:30 am CT / 9:30 am MT / 8:30 am PT
Managing the Adult Spina Bifida Patient

Rosalia Misseri, MD

12:00 pm ET / 11:00 am CT / 10:00 am MT / 9:00 am PT
Assessing Male Fertility in Congenital Anomalies

Gunter De Win, MD, PhD, FEAPU

12:30 pm ET / 11:30 am CT / 10:30 am MT / 9:30 am PT
Options for Male Genital Reconstruction in Adolescents and Adults

Piet Hoebeke, MD, PhD, FEAPU

1:00 pm ET / 12:00 pm CT / 11:00 am MT / 10:00 am PT

BREAK

1:10 pm ET / 12:10 pm CT / 11:10 am MT / 10:10 am PT
Assessing Urinary Incontinence in the Adult Patient with Congenital Anomalies

Ty Higuchi, MD, PhD

1:30 pm ET / 12:30 pm CT / 11:30 am MT / 10:30 am PT
Bowel Management in Adults

Luis De la Torre, MD

1:50 pm ET / 12:50 pm CT / 11:50 am MT / 10:50 am PT
It Takes a Village: Importance of Multidisciplinary Care

Megan Adams, MD

2:10 pm ET / 1:10 pm CT / 12:10 pm MT / 11:10 am PT
Transition of Care in Dialysis and Kidney Transplantation: A Pediatric Nephrologist Perspective on Graduating from Pediatric to Adult Care

Eric Benz, MD

2:30 pm ET / 1:30 pm CT / 12:30 pm MT / 11:30 am PT
Case Presentations

Presented by Alessandra Gasior, MD; Anthony Noah, MB.BS, FRCS Urol; Andrea Bischoff, MD; Dan Wood, PhD, MB.BS, FRCS Urol

3:00 pm ET / 2:00 pm CT / 1:00 pm MT / 12:00 pm PT

Closing Remarks

 

 

 

 

Rate This Presentation: 
Your rating: None
5
Average: 5 (3 votes)