Gastroschisis Challenges North and South

Tuesday, March 24, 2020
4:00 p.m. ET (UTC-4) / 3:00 p.m. CT / 2:00 p.m. MT / 1:00 p.m. PT

FIND THE STARTING TIME IN YOUR TIME ZONE

How To Attend the Webinar

Gastroschsisis is associated with more than 95% long-term survival in high income countries, yet persistently very poor survival in low income countries.

This webinar will explore the current status of gastroschisis outcomes throughout the world, focusing particularly on low and middle income countries and present some clinical and research work that may improve outcomes in different environments. There will be ample time for participation and participants are encouraged to share their cases and experiences.

Learning Objectives

  • To explore current challenges in the care of gastroschisis patients in all environments, with a focus on low- and middle-income countries.
  • To present interventions that may improve outcomes of gastroschisis in diverse health care environments.

The participant will gain knowledge that may enable them to improve the outcomes of gastroschisis in their own practice.

Moderator
Sherif Emil, M.D., C.M.
Professor of Pediatric Surgery, Surgery, and Pediatrics
Mirella and Lino Saputo Foundation Chair in Pediatric Surgical Education
and Patient
and Family-centered Pediatric Surgical Care
McGill University Faculty of Medicine
Director, Harvey E. Beardmore Division of Pediatric Surgery
The Montreal Children's Hospital
McGill University Health Centre
Montreal, Canada

Guest Panelists

MEXICO

Alejandro Penarrieta Daher, M.D.
Department of Pediatric Surgery, Hospital Infantil de México Federico Gómez,
Mexico City, Mexico

Cristian Zalles Vidal, M.D.
Department of Pediatric Surgery, Hospital Infantil de México Federico Gómez,
Mexico City, Mexico

BRAZIL

Marcelo Eller Miranda, M.D.
Departamento de Cirurgia da Faculdade de Medicina
Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil

NIGERIA

Emmanuel Ameh, M.D.
Chief Consultant Paediatric Surgeon, National Hospital, Abuja, Nigeria

UGANDA/CANADA

Martin Situma, M.D.
Mbarara University of Science & Technology, Mbarara, Uganda

Kathryn E. Larusso, M.D.
Montreal Children's Hospital,
McGill University Health Centre, Montreal, Canada

MALAWI/UNITED KINGDOM

Kennedy Kachingwe
Pediatric Surgical Nurse, Malawi

Naomi Wright, M.D.
Pediatric Surgery, King's College London
London, UK

INDIA

Nilesh Tank, M.D.
Pediatric Surgery, Smt. Rasilaben Sevantilal Shah, Venus Hospital,
Ashakatashram Campus, Surat, Gujarat, India

 

 

Rate This Case: 
Your rating: None
5
Average: 5 (4 votes)