Current Topics in Hirschsprung Disease

Wednesday, August 10, 2022, and

Thursday, August 11, 2022
10:00 a.m. ET (2:00 p.m. GMT/UTC) / 9:00 a.m. CT / 8:00 a.m. MT / 7:00 a.m. PT
FIND THE START TIME IN YOUR TIME ZONE

HOW TO ATTEND

TO RECEIVE CME CREDIT, REGISTER HERE


Workshop Summary

The Workshop on Current Topics in Hirschsprung Disease will focus on “State of the Art” and important technical details for the successful diagnosis, treatment, and postoperative care of Hirschsprung disease patients.

Moderated by Luis De La Torre, MD, from the International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care at Children's Hospital Colorado, the Hirschsprung Disease Course is a comprehensive surgical and management workshop hosted virtually through The Hendren Project.

Target Audience

The course is designed for pediatric surgeons, fellows, gastroenterologists, pediatricians, pathologists, radiologists, and pediatric nurses who manage patients with colorectal problems.

Learning Objectives

At the conclusion of the course, participants will be able to:

• Review the principles of diagnosis and management of Hirschsprung disease.
• Discuss the challenges of a primary pull-through vs staged pull-through.
• Describe the importance of the anal canal in patient with fecal incontinence and colitis after the repair of Hirschsprung.
• Recognize the contribution of a frozen section biopsy and paraffin-embedded biopsy in the diagnosis of Hirschsprung and the “Transitional Zone”.
• Review the comprehensive post-operative management of Hirschsprung Disease.
• Explain the use of the transanal approach for different colorectal conditions.

Learner Outcome

After attending this event, participants will report increased knowledge of pertinent clinical conditions seen in pediatric patients with a Hirschsprung disease diagnosis and relate any intended changes in practice that may be made as a result of the learning that took place at this activity.

Presentations


Day 1, Wednesday, August 10, 2022


10:05 am ET / 9:05 am CT / 8:05 am MT / 7:05 am PT

Hirschsprung in the Newborn: Irrigations, Colostomy, or Ileostomy?

Andrea Bischoff, MD
Director, International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Attending Pediatric Surgeon, Children’s Hospital Colorado
Associate Professor, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO


10:30 am ET / 9:30 am CT / 8:30 am MT / 7:30 am PT

Primary Pull-through: Trap and Errors

Luis De La Torre, MD
International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Associate Professor, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO


11:00 am ET / 10:00 am CT / 9:00 am MT / 8:00 am PT

Histopathology of Hirschsprung: Paraffin Embedded Tissue

Mark Lovell, MD
Professor of Pathology, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO


11:30 am ET / 10:30 am CT / 9:30 am MT / 8:30 am PT

Histopathology of Hirschsprung: Interoperative Diagnosis, Frozen Sections, Transitional Zones: Controversies, Pitfalls, and Recommendations

Michael Arnold, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Pathology, Children's Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO


12:00 pm ET / 11:00 am CT / 10:00 am MT / 9:00 am PT

Surgical History of Hirschsprung Disease

Alberto Peña, MD
Founding Director, International Center for Colorectal Care, Children's Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Professor Emeritus, University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus, Aurora, CO


12:30 pm ET / 11:30 am CT / 10:30 am MT / 9:30 am PT

BREAK


12:45 pm ET / 11:45 am CT / 10:45 am MT / 9:45 am PT

Pearls and Pitfalls in Imaging of Hirschsprung Disease

Kari Hayes, MD
Director Pediatric Radiology Fluoroscopy, Children's Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Director of Education, Children's Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO


1:15 pm ET / 12:15 pm CT / 11:15 am MT / 10:15 am PT

Swenson, Soave, or Duhamel Pull Through?

Luis De La Torre, MD
International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Associate Professor, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO


1:45 pm ET / 12:45 pm CT / 11:45 am MT / 10:45 am PT

Closing Remarks, Q&A

 


Day 2, Thursday, August 11, 2022


10:00 am ET / 9:00 am CT / 8:00 am MT / 7:00 am PT

Total Colonic Aganglionosis

Andrea Bischoff, MD
Director, International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Attending Pediatric Surgeon, Children’s Hospital Colorado
Associate Professor, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO


10:30 am ET / 9:30 am CT / 8:30 am MT / 7:30 am PT

Long-segment Hirschsprung Disease

Luis De La Torre, MD
International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Associate Professor, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO


11:00 pm ET / 10:00 am CT / 9:00 am MT / 8:00 am PT

The Anal Canal in Hirschsprung

Alberto Peña, MD
Founding Director, International Center for Colorectal Care, Children's Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Professor Emeritus, University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus, Aurora, CO


11:30 pm ET / 10:30 am CT / 9:30 am MT / 8:30 am PT

Constipation Versus Hirschsprung Disease

Luis De La Torre, MD
International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Associate Professor, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO


12:00 pm ET / 11:00 am CT / 10:00 am MT / 9:00 am PT

Surgical Treatment of Idiopathic Constipation

Luis De La Torre, MD
International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Associate Professor, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO


12:30 pm ET / 11:30 am CT / 10:30 am MT / 9:30 am PT

Transanal Approach for Hirschsprung and Rectal Prolapse

Luis De La Torre, MD
International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Associate Professor, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO


1:00 pm ET / 12:00 pm CT / 11:00 am MT / 10:00 am PT

BREAK


1:15 pm ET / 12:15 pm CT / 11:15 am MT / 10:15 am PT

Hirschsprung Associated Enterocolitis: Irrigations, Enemas, and Botox

Luis De La Torre, MD
International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Associate Professor, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO


1:45 pm ET / 12:45 pm CT / 11:45 am MT / 10:45 am PT

Bowel Management for Fecal Incontinence and ACE Procedures

Andrea Bischoff, MD
Director, International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Attending Pediatric Surgeon, Children’s Hospital Colorado
Associate Professor, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO


2:15 pm ET / 1:15 pm CT / 12:15 pm MT / 11:15 am PT

Closing Remarks

 


 

Rate This Presentation: 
Your rating: None
4.88889
Average: 4.9 (9 votes)