The Unborn Patient: Prenatal Diagnosis and Management of the Fetus with Gastroschisis or Omphalocele

Next Webinar Date:

Tuesday, March 16, 2021
4:00 p.m. EST (8:00 p.m. GMT/UTC) / 3:00 p.m. CST / 2:00 p.m. MST / 1:00 p.m. PST

FIND THE START TIME IN YOUR TIME ZONE

SUBMIT A PATIENT CASE

Register for More Information

Webinar Objective

In many medium-income and most high-income countries, prenatal diagnosis of abdominal wall defects has become standard. The objectives of this webinar are:

  1. To review prenatal findings in gastroschisis and potential predictors of prognosis.
  2. To review prenatal findings in omphalocele and potential predictors of prognosis.
  3. To review indications for fetal intervention, early delivery, or C-section delivery in abdominal wall defects.

Moderator

Sherif Emil, M.D., C.M., F.R.C.S.C., F.A.C.S., F.A.A.P.
Professor of Pediatric Surgery, Surgery, and Pediatrics
Mirella and Lino Saputo Foundation Chair in Pediatric Surgical Education
and Patient
and Family-centered Pediatric Surgical Care
McGill University Faculty of Medicine
Director, Harvey E. Beardmore Division of Pediatric Surgery
The Montreal Children's Hospital
McGill University Health Centre
Montreal, Canada

 

Webinar Participants

Judith H. Chung, M.D., Ph.D., F.A.C.O.G.
judithc@hs.uci.edu
Professor of Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of California, Irvine College of Medicine
Program Director, Maternal Fetal Medicine Fellowship University of California, Irvine Medical Center, Irvine, CA

Prenatal diagnosis and evaluation of gastroschisis

Dr. Chung will discuss the potential prenatal sonographic predictors of complex gastroschisis,
such as location, extent, onset, and trajectory of bowel dilation, gastric dilation, and bowel-wall
thickness.

 

Richard Brown, M.B.B.S., F.R.C.O.G., F.A.C.O.G.
Richard.Brown@mcgill.ca
Associate Professor Director of the Divisions of Obstetrics, Maternal Fetal Medicine, and Ultrasound
McGill University Health Centre
McGill University Faculty of Medicine
Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Prenatal diagnosis and evaluation of omphalocele

 

Darrell L. Cass, M.D., F.A.C.S., F.A.A.P.
CASSD@ccf.org
Pediatric General and Thoracic Surgeon Director of Fetal Surgery
Director, Fetal Care Center, Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland OH

Decision making and fetal interventions for abdominal wall defects: Present and future

 

Rate This Presentation: 
Your rating: None
4.666665
Average: 4.7 (3 votes)