Workshop for Advanced Practice Providers and Nurses in the Surgical Treatment of Colorectal Problems in Children

1-Day Online Course:

Tuesday, April 5, 2022
10:00 a.m. EST (2:00 p.m. GMT/UTC) / 9:00 a.m. CST / 8:00 a.m. MST / 7:00 a.m. PST
FIND THE START TIME IN YOUR TIME ZONE

Overview

This course will provide a comprehensive overview of the acute and chronic management of patients with congenital colorectal conditions.

Moderated by Amy Krause, RN; Annie Merritt, RN; Hope Simmons, NP; and Julie Schletker, NP; experts from the International Center for Colorectal and Urogenital Care at Children's Hospital Colorado.

Target Audience

Designed for pediatric nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and physicians caring for patients with congenital colorectal conditions.

Learning Objectives

  • Identify the principles of the diagnosis and management of congenital anorectal malformations
  • Describe the concepts of surgical management for anorectal malformations
  • Determine mental health and social considerations for patients with congenital colorectal conditions.
  • Recognize key components of inpatient pre-operative and post-operative care for patients undergoing pediatric colorectal surgery
  • Review acute pain management techniques following colorectal surgery
  • Summarize renal and urologic considerations for patients with anorectal malformations
  • Recognize bowel management strategies including laxatives and enemas and identifying when each type of bowel management is indicated
  • Identify stoma care techniques

Learner Outcome

Participants will report increased knowledge of pertinent clinical conditions of pediatric patients with a colorectal malformations. 

Presentations


10:00 am ET / 9:00 am CT / 8:00 am MT / 7:00 am PT
Principles of Diagnosis and Management of Congenital Colorectal Problems

Julie Schletker, MSN, CPNP-AC, FNP

10:30 am ET / 9:30 am CT / 8:30 am MT / 7:30 am PT
Surgical Overview

Andrea Bischoff, MD

11:00 am ET / 10:00 am CT / 9:00 am MT / 8:00 am PT
Surgical Video: Cloaca Repair

11:30 am ET / 10:30 am CT / 9:30 am MT / 8:30 am PT

Addressing Mental Health and Social Needs When Treating Patients with Colorectal Problems

Kristina Matkins, LCSW

Laura Judd-Glossy, PhD

12:15 pm ET / 11:15 am CT / 10:15 am MT / 9:15 am PT

BREAK

12:30 pm ET / 11:30 am CT / 10:30 am MT / 9:30 am PT
Inpatient: Anorectal Malformation and Hirschsprung Disease

Hope Simmons, MSN, CPNP-AC

Malone and Neo-Malone

Annie Merritt, RN, BSN, CPN

1:30 pm ET / 12:30 pm CT / 11:30 am MT / 10:30 am PT
Acute Pain Management: "The What, How and Why"

Teri Reyburn-Orne, MSN, RN-BC, PPCNP-BC/CPNP-AC, AP-PNM

2:15 pm ET / 1:15 pm CT / 12:15 pm MT / 11:15 am PT

LUNCH

3:00 pm ET / 2:00 pm CT / 1:00 pm MT / 12:00 pm PT
Nephrology

Emma Ahrendsen, MSN, CPNP-AC

3:30 pm ET / 2:30 pm CT / 1:30 pm MT / 12:30 pm PT
Urology Nursing Considerations

Karol Monnett, BSN, RN, CPN

4:00 pm ET / 3:00 pm CT / 2:00 pm MT / 1:00 pm PT

BREAK

4:15 pm ET / 3:15 pm CT / 2:15 pm MT / 1:15 pm PT
Bowel Management Week Overview

Amy Krause, RN, BSN, CPN

Annie Merritt, RN, BSN, CPN

5:00 pm ET / 4:00 pm CT / 3:00 pm MT / 2:00 pm PT
Ostomy Care

Pam Abraham, BSN, RM, CWOCN

5:30 pm ET / 4:30 pm CT / 3:30 pm MT / 2:30 pm PT
Rate This Presentation: 
Your rating: None
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)